Death and the Maiden

SSO Chamber Series

Death and the Maiden


Fri / 17 May 2019 / 7:30PM


Victoria Concert Hall


  • Schubert
    Piano Trio in E-flat major, D. 929
  • Schubert
    String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, D. 810 "Death and the Maiden"
  • Dvořák
    String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 77 

Experience the heartfelt inspiration of Schubert’s final years in Death and the Maiden, evocatively filled with deep sorrow and stark drama. The slow movement from his Piano Trio, D. 929, exudes bleak, inevitable loss amidst its inexorable momentum. This attractive programme ends with Dvořák’s infrequently heard Quintet No. 2 for string quartet and double bass, a work full of his melodic trademarks, signifying his burgeoning maturity as one of Czech people’s greatest composers.


  • Strings of the SSO

Standard Ticket:


Admission Advice:

No admission for infants-in-arms and children below 6 years of age.
Latecomers may expect to be admitted after Piano Trio in E-flat major (10').
Subject to change at the discretion of the performers.

Buy Tickets Buy Package

Photographs and videos will be taken at the event in which you may appear. Such photographs and videos may be displayed or published on SSG’s website, social media platforms, publications and publicity materials. By attending the event, you consent to the use of these photographs and videos for the foregoing purposes.