VCH Organ Series



Sun / 6 Aug 2017 / 4:00PM


Victoria Concert Hall

The King of Instruments takes centre stage with new compositions by Singaporean composers Chok Kerong and young contemporaries Chen Zhangyi and Phoon Yu. Disquiet, Chok’s work specially commissioned for the Klais Pipe Organ, will feature organist Margaret Chen with a string ensemble conducted by Ang Shao-wen. Composer-organist Phoon Yu will present an original piece that brings together the thrilling combination of organ and trumpet, before completing the afternoon with traditional flair, Bach's Prelude and Fugue in C major.

VCH Tours

The VCH from a fresh perspective! Join our friendly Docents on a 40-minute tour of the Victoria Concert Hall as you discover the fascinating history and architecture of this magnificent building. Registration is on a first-come-first-served basis, and held at the Victoria Concert Hall Atrium.   


2.30pm | Tour: 3pm


Doors open half an hour before the concert. Suitable for ages 5 and above. No admission for infants-in-arms.


  • Ang Shao-wen, conductor
  • Margaret Chen, organ
  • Phoon Yu, organ
  • Lau Wen Rong, trumpet

    String Ensemble
  • Chan Yoong Han, violin
  • Cindy Lee, violin
  • Christina Zhou, violin
  • Karen Tan, violin
  • Margit Saur, violin
  • Ye Lin, violin
  • Janice Tsai, viola
  • Christoven Tan, viola
  • Marietta Ku, viola
  • Wang Zihao, cello
  • Wang Yan, cello                                  
  • Brandon Wong, double bass


  • CHOK Kerong
    Disquiet (Commissioned by Singapore Symphony Group for VCH Organ Series)
  • CHEN Zhangyi
    The Sixth Angel
  • PHOON Yu
    Prelude and Fugue on Wynne’s Theme
    Piece for Organ and Trumpet
  • BACH
    Prelude and Fugue in C Major, BWV 545

Sponsored By

  • Lee Foundation