VCH Organ Series: Margaret Chen

VCH Organ Series: Margaret Chen

Sun, 28 Aug 2016, 4pm
Victoria Concert Hall


Grand Dame of Singapore’s organ scene, Margaret Chen, teams up with SSO’s Associate Conductor Joshua Tan to bring you an uplifting afternoon which includes the Concerto Grosso No. 1 by Alfred Schnittke – who pioneered a then-new style now known as “polystylism” – and Bach’s Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor, described by Robert Schumann as “intertwined so ingeniously that one can never cease to be amazed”.

VCH Tours

The VCH from a fresh perspective! Join our friendly Docents on a 40-minute tour of the Victoria Concert Hall as you discover the fascinating history and architecture of this magnificent building. Registration for the pre-concert tour takes place at the VCH Atrium at 2.30pm, and is on a first-come-first-served basis. The tour will begin at 3pm. Please register early as limited spaces are available. All tours will be held after the concert except on 28 August, which will take place at 3pm.


Please come early to secure the best seats as seating in the concert hall is limited. Doors open half an hour before the concert. This concert will last approximately 45 minutes and is suitable for ages 5 and above. No admission for infants-in-arms.

Sponsored by


Margaret Chen, organ

Joshua Tan, conductor

Loh Jun Hong, violin

Gabriel Ng, violin



Concerto for Organ in B-flat major,

HWV 294


Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor,

BWV 582


Concerto Grosso No. 1 for

2 violins, harpsichord, prepared piano

and 21 strings


Priority booking. Discounted tickets. Exclusive Meet-the-Artiste sessions. Personalised ticketing hotline service. Birthday treats and more can be yours when you become a Friend of the SSO!