Subscription Concert

Serenade with Soyoung Yoon

In praise of love


Thu / 29 Nov 18 / 7.30pm


Esplanade Concert Hall





Serenade with Soyoung Yoon


Muse over five musical statements of love in Bernstein’s Serenade - a violin concerto in all but name - with multiple award-winning Korean violinist Soyoung Yoon. Returning Polish conductor Michal Nesterowicz shows us the beautiful craftsmanship of two masterworks: his countryman Górecki’s serene Three Pieces in Old Style; and Beethoven’s Eighth, whose zest and sunny energy hinted little at his increasing deafness.

Enormously talented, with a terrific temperament and a bouncy effervescent quality
*The Strad*

Attend This Concert

To hear the young and talented Korean violinist Soyoung Yoon in Bernstein's "Violin Concerto". To listen to Beethoven's Eighth Symphony, written when he was becoming increasingly deaf.


Michal Nesterowicz, conductor / Michal Nesterowicz / Soyoung Yoon, violin



Three Pieces in Old Style


Serenade (after Plato's "Symposium")

- Intermission -

Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93


Programme Brochure


Concert Extras

Pre-concert Talk

6:30 PM | library@esplanade


Autograph Session with Soyoung Yoon

Standard Tickets:

$88, $68, $48, $38, $28, $15

Admission Advice:
No admission for infants-in-arms and children below 6 years of age.
Latecomers may not be admitted until after Górecki's Three Pieces in Old Style (10'). Subject to change at the discretion of the performers.

Admission Advice

  • Non-flash photography is allowed during the concert.

Photographs and videos will be taken at the event in which you may appear. Such photographs and videos may be displayed or published on SSG’s website, social media platforms, publications and publicity materials. By attending the event, you consent to the use of these photographs and videos for the foregoing purposes.

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You