Published on 15 October 2018

Three pieces, six tales - of love and loyalty. We mark the 150th anniversary of Rossini with his overture to La Cenerentola - Cinderella, that tale of faith and love beloved by all ages. Tchaikovsky’s abundant gift for melody makes him perfectly suited for Sleeping Beauty, a story of patience and protection. Four Korngold scores painting films of love and honour are the musical inspiration for his violin concerto, to be told this night by 2015 Singapore Violin Competition prize winner Richard Lin.

Kees Bakels was born in Amsterdam and began his musical career as a violinist. He later studied conducting at the Amsterdam Conservatoire and at the Academy Chigiana in Siena. During his studies, he became Assistant Conductor of the Amsterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and subsequently held the position of Associate Conductor with that orchestra. He also became Principal Guest Conductor of the Netherlands Chamber Orchestra which he took to festivals in England, Finland, Belgium, and Spain and on a coast-to-coast tour of the USA.

Taiwanese-American violinist Richard Lin is the newly crowned Gold Medalist of the 10th Quadrennial International Violin Competition of Indianapolis which took place in September of 2018. In addition to the Gold Medal, Richard captured three Special Prizes for his performances of Milstein’s Paganiniana in the Preliminaries, Kreisler’s Tambourin chinois in the Classical Finals and Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy in the Finals.

Audiences at our concert will get a chance to meet Richard Lin up-close and personal in our autograph session.

“One of the new generation’s most promising and gifted young concert soloists.” —The Violin Channel



For press enquiries, please contact:

Singapore Symphony Group
80 Bencoolen Street, NAFA Tower Block
#08-01 Singapore 189655
T +65 6602 4221


Date & time
15 November 2018 (Thursday), 7.30pm

Pre-concert Talk: 6.30pm at library@esplanade


Esplanade Concert Hall


Singapore Symphony Orchestra
Kees Bakels, conductor
Richard Lin, violin

Please contact the Media Officer for photographs and interviews.


ROSSINI Overture to
La Cenerentola

KORNGOLD Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

TCHAIKOVSKY Excerpts from Sleeping Beauty


$88, $68, $48, $38, $28, $15

*before booking fees: $1 for tickets $20 and below, $3 for tickets $20.01 to $40, $4 for tickets above $40.

Concession discounts
Students, Senior Citizens, NSF and PWDs: $30, $20 (Cat 3-4)

Tickets are available from SISTIC hotline: 6348 5555, website: www.sistic.com.sg, SISTIC counters island-wide and Esplanade Box Office.