Season 2022/23 • SNYO

SNYO in Concert: Symphony of Dance

Live with the Singapore Ballet


Sat / 10 Jun 23 / 3.00pm

Sat / 10 Jun 23 / 7.30pm


Esplanade Concert Hall


$30, $20


1 hr 30 mins

SNYO in Concert: Symphony of Dance

In Collaboration with

Singapore Ballet

Programme Brochure


Due to road closures for National Day Parade rehearsals, please cater for additional travelling time. Ticket holders are advised to refer to official sources for details on road closures.

Be captivated by the beauty of ballet with live music in this not-to-be-missed performance with the Singapore National Youth Orchestra and Singapore Ballet. This first-ever exciting collaboration will see the magic of movement and music being staged in the Esplanade Concert Hall.

Witness the brilliance of ballet performances to Tchaikovsky’s Serenade in C Major, Op. 48, followed by Ravel’s Valses nobles et sentimentales. Prepare to be mesmerised by intricate choreography and dancers from the Singapore Ballet as they perform excerpts from Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker; the sweet voices of the Singapore Lyric Opera Youth and Children’s Chorus will join in the performance for the Waltz of the Snowflakes.

About the Ballets

Serenade in C Major, Op. 48

Choreography: George Balanchine® The George Balanchine® Trust
Staging: Elyse Borne
Music: Peter Il’yich Tchaikovsky
Costume design: Barbara Karinska

Serenade is a milestone in the history of dance. It is the first original ballet Balanchine created in America and is one of the signature works of New York City Ballet’s repertory. The ballet is performed by dancers in blue costumes in front of a blue background. Originating it as a lesson in stage technique, Balanchine worked unexpected rehearsal events into the choreography. When one student fell, he incorporated it. Another day, a student arrived late, and this too became part of the ballet. After its initial presentation, Serenade was reworked several times. In its present form there are four movements – “Sonatina,” “Waltz,” “Russian Dance,” and “Elegy.”

Emerald Blue - World Premiere

Choreography: Janek Schergen
Music: Maurice Ravel - Valses nobles et sentimentales (1911)

The magic of music and movement combined is the inspiration of Emerald Blue. Maurice Ravel’s composition of Valses nobles et sentimentales is the catalyst of the piece with the aim to create a swirling group of dancers in rapturous movement inspired by the lush sounds of the orchestra. The dancers represent a romantic era in their overall look and mood. It is a ballet that should transport you to a place of fantasy.

The Nutcracker

Excerpts from Snow Waltz, Grand Pas de deux, Waltz of the Flowers

Choreography & Staging: Janek Schergen
Music: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Costume Design: Aaron Yap

Clara is taken on a magical journey to the Land of Snow where she meets the Snow King and Queen and all her snowflake subjects. She continues her journey further until she arrives at the magical Kingdom of Sweets. Clara’s sister, Marie and Kristian, greet her as the Sugar Plum Fairy and her Prince Consort. The kingdom’s flowers entertain Clara with wondrous dancing.

Programme Brochure


Singapore National Youth Orchestra / Singapore Ballet / Singapore Lyric Opera Youth and Children's Chorus



Serenade in C major, Op. 48

- Intermission -

Valses nobles et sentimentales

- Intermission -

Excerpts from The Nutcracker, Op. 71



Standard Tickets: $30, $20

All prices before SISTIC booking fees: $1 for tickets $20 and below
$3 for tickets $20.01 to $40

Children must be age 5 and above to be admitted into the hall. Parents or guardians of children admitted are strongly encouraged to purchase aisle seats.

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You

Recommended For You