Published on 18 July 2019

The composer of the 1915 Raffles March is one A. Dietz, former Director of the Orchestra at the Raffles Hotel. Little is known of him, not even his first name. The work is known to have been performed on 13 September 1922 at the hotel, in a special concert reported in The Straits Times the day before.

In 2017, more than a century after its composition, the piano version of the score is all that remains, and this was found in the National Library by SSO bassoonist Christoph Wichert, who followed a lead from a local musicologist.

On 10 Aug this year, the Raffles March will receive its first contemporary performance, in a new orchestration by Singaporean composer/pianist Bertram Wee. The revived work will open the SSO National Day Concert 2019, as part of the musical showcase of how Singapore’s arts legacy has grown in the last century.

The Awakening, Voices from the Heart, Home – familiar and favourite classics will be performed alongside brand new works such as Jewel of Srivijaya, Kampong Overture and Our Singapore Dream. The all-Singaporean programme features a cast of all-Singaporean musical talent, including Jeremy Monteiro (piano), Joanna Dong (vocals), Nawaz Mirajkar (table), V M Sai Akileshwar (mridangam), Tamagoh (drums), Christy Smith (bass), and Samuel Phua (saxophone).

The 2019 SSO National Day Concert is the second such concert organised by the Singapore Symphony Orchestra, an annual affair inaugurated in 2018. The Orchestra conducted by SSO Associate Conductor Joshua Tan will be accompanied by the Singapore Symphony Chorus and Youth Choir, with Choral Director Eudenice Palaruan.

Join us at this jubilant celebration of Singaporean music. This is home, truly, and our music will tell us so.

For press enquiries, please contact:

Singapore Symphony Group
80 Bencoolen Street, NAFA Tower Block
#08-01 Singapore 189655
T +65 6602 4221


Date & time

10 August 2019 (Saturday), 7.30pm


Esplanade Concert Hall


Joshua Tan, conductor Jeremy Monteiro, piano Tamagoh, drums Christy Smith, bass Samuel Phua, saxophone Nawaz Mirajkar, tabla V M Sai Akileshwar, mridangam Joanna Dong, jazz vocalist Singapore Symphony Chorus and Youth Choir Eudenice Palaruan, choral director

Please contact the Media Officer for photographs and interviews.


Full programme listing here


$48, $38, $28, $15

*before booking fees: $1 for tickets $20 and below, $3 for tickets $20.01 to $40, $4 for tickets above $40.

Concession discounts

Students, Senior Citizens, NSF and PWDs: 30% off (Cat 3-4)

Tickets are available from website:, SISTIC hotline: 6348 5555, SISTIC counters island-wide and Esplanade Box Office.